Welcome to
the Walker Department
of Mechanical Engineering

LinkedIn logo

Follow us on LinkedIn for updates and to connect with our community.

Follow Us on LinkedIn

Sorry, we cannot find the content you are looking for.

Try checking the address to make sure it has been typed correctly. If you followed a link, it may be outdated or broken. Please notify our This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. so we can fix it.

Still can't find what you're looking for? Try searching for your content.


Measuring Underwater Carbon Capture With Sound

Texas Engineers will lead a new project on marine carbon dioxide removal, capture and storage as part of a larger research push from the U.S. Department of Energy (DOE).

Read more

Joseph Beaman Named Honorary Member of ASME

Joseph Beaman, professor in the Walker Department of Mechanical Engineering, has been named an Honorary Member of the American Society of Mechanical Engineers.

Read more

John Goodenough: 1922-2023

John B. Goodenough, who received the Nobel Prize in Chemistry in 2019 for his contributions to the development of the lithium-ion battery, passed away in June 2023.

Learn More
John Goodenough Nobel prize

Research Areas


Undergraduate Mechanical Engineering Program


Graduate Mechanical Engineering Program


Nobel Prize Recipient


Explore more at the Walker Department of Mechanical Engineering

cover of magazine

Texas Mechanical Engineer Magazine

Learn more

students celebrating at work site

Humanitarian Engineering: Educating Responsible, Bold, and Innovative Engineers

Learn more

three students in masks

Get to Know the Course: ME 302 Introduction to Engineering Design & Graphics

Learn more

man wearing glasses laughing

Faculty Openings

Learn more