Ram Manthiram

Arumugam 'Ram' Manthiram, professor in the Walker Department of Mechanical Engineering, will receive the Yeager Award from the International Battery Materials Association (IBA).

Mathiram is being recognized for his outstanding contributions and pioneering research in multiple emerging fields of battery R&D, in particular in the understanding and further development of cathode materials for high energy density batteries.

This award is the highest honor given by IBA and is meant to reward and recognize outstanding contributions to electrochemical energy conversion and storage science over a protracted period. Manthiram will be presented the award this September at the annual IBA conference where he will give a plenary talk.

Manthiram joined the University of Texas at Austin as a postdoctoral researcher in 1986 and became Assistant Professor in the Walker Department of Mechanical Engineering in 1991. He was promoted to the rank of Professor in 2000 and he currently holds the George T. & Gladys H. Abell Endowed Chair of Engineering. He served as the Director of the Texas Materials Institute and the Materials Science and Engineering Graduate Program for 11 years during 2011 - 2022.