Mitch Pryor Among Three UT Austin Faculty Members to Win Fulbright Scholar Awards

June 23, 2022

Three faculty members of The University of Texas at Austin, including Mitchell Pryor from the Cockrell School of Engineering, have received 2022-2023 Fulbright U.S. Scholar Program awards from the U.S. Department of State and the Fulbright Foreign Scholarship Board.

Mitch Pryor

Pryor, Paola Canova and Catherine Weaver will conduct research and/or teach abroad during the 2022-2023 academic year, thanks to the Fulbright U.S. Scholar Program. Annually, more than 800 U.S. scholars, artists and professionals from all backgrounds teach or conduct research overseas through the program.

“The University of Texas at Austin commends this year’s faculty recipients of the Fulbright U.S. Scholar awards,” said Sonia Feigenbaum, senior vice provost for global engagement and chief international officer. “We are proud of their significant contributions in transnational teaching and research, and of the university’s longstanding partnership with Fulbright. This opportunity will advance the work of these professors in their respective fields while cultivating collaboration between UT Austin and our peer institutions abroad.”

The Fulbright Program is the U.S. government’s flagship international educational exchange program, supported by the people of the United States and partner countries around the world. The Fulbright Program is funded through an annual appropriation made by the U.S. Congress to the U.S. Department of State’s Bureau of Educational and Cultural Affairs.

UT Austin maintains a long history of alumni, faculty and staff receiving Fulbright awards to conduct research and teach in a multitude of disciplines. The work expands the awardees’ professional networks, often leading to continued research collaborations and laying the groundwork for future partnerships between institutions.

Mitchell Pryor, research scientist and lecturer for the Cockrell School of Engineering, will travel April-June to Tartu, Estonia, to teach at the University of Tartu on the topic of open-source human-machine interfaces for international emergency response.

“Tele-operated robots have previously responded to international disasters from Chernobyl to Fukushima,” Pryor said. “UT Austin has collaborated with the University of Tartu to develop technical human-machine interface capabilities, but we must also ensure these essential capabilities are accessible for international use.”

Fulbright alumni include 61 Nobel Prize laureates, 89 Pulitzer Prize recipients, and 40 who have served as a head of state or government.

For more information about the Fulbright Program, visit