International Battery Materials Association Awards Goodenough, Manthiram for Battery Research Contributions

December 16, 2020

The International Battery Materials Association (IBA) has awarded John B. Goodenough and Arumugam Manthiram for their significant contributions to battery research and technology development that have impacted the advancement of energy storage systems, and for lifetime accomplishments to the IBA. 

Goodenough was awarded the IBA Medal of Excellence for his exceptional life-long contributions to electrochemical energy conversion and storage research and/or technology development. Goodenough will receive the award alongside M. Stanley Wittingham and Akira Yoshino, with whom he also shares the 2019 Nobel Prize in Chemistry.

Manthiram was awarded the IBA Research Award for his outstanding contributions to advances in electrochemical energy conversion and storage research.

The winners will be recognized at the 2021 IBA Annual Meeting. Read the full announcement here.