Media Contact

Ashley Lindstrom
Communications Coordinator

Bradley Caponigro, Cockrell School of Engineering junior and undergraduate researcher in the Department of Mechanical Engineering, has been selected as an Astronaut Scholar for the second consecutive academic year.

University of Texas at Austin mechanical engineering associate professors Maura Borrego and Carolyn Seepersad have received a grant from the National Science Foundation’s Division of Engineering Education and Centers to study the links between engineering identity and retention in engineering.  

Amir Khalighi was awarded the Best Poster prize at the 2016 Frontiers in Medical Devices conference for his poster, titled "A Multi-resolution Analysis of the Mitral Valve Geometry for the Development of Personalized Models."

This year, Thinkery worked with students from The University of Texas at Austin’s Cockrell School of Engineering to redesign an activity for HydroExplorers, a Thinkery summer camp that explores the wild, wonderful world of water.

The Cockrell School's five Distinguished Engineering Graduates for 2016 are inventors, entrepreneurs, CEOs and thought leaders in their fields. We honor them for their professional leadership, dedication to advancing engineering and support of higher education. Established in 1957, the Distinguished Engineering Graduate Award represents the highest honor that the Cockrell School bestows on its alumni.

Mechanical engineering associate professor Christopher Rylander has stepped into the new role of associate chair for undergraduate education. The position combines the previous roles of undergraduate faculty advisor and undergraduate curriculum committee chair, held most recently by Harovel Wheat and Desi Kovar, respectively. 

Scott Evans has worn many hats in his career: mechanical engineer, materials scientist, entrepreneur, consultant and teacher. Each of these experiences provides a unique perspective as he takes on his newest position: director of the Longhorn Maker Studio.

The Cockrell School of Engineering at The University of Texas at Austin has been selected to receive its first-ever education grant from The Leona M. and Harry B. Helmsley Charitable Trust. The three-year award of nearly $800,000 will be used to help improve the quality of STEM teaching, learning and student retention at U.S. colleges and universities.

On Thursday, March 31, U.S. Secretary of Defense Ashton Carter visited the Department of Mechanical Engineering’s ReNeu Robotics Laboratory on his tour of The University of Texas at Austin. Secretary Carter saw firsthand the innovative technologies and devices being developed in the lab and learned about the researchers’ work at the intersection of robotics and rehabilitation.

Joomla SEF URLs by Artio