Media Contact

Ashley Lindstrom
Communications Coordinator

For the past two decades, the Nuclear and Radiation Engineering (NRE) program in the Department of Mechanical Engineering has offered masters and doctoral degrees completed by distance learning. Through these advanced degrees, individuals can pursue career growth opportunities to become the next generation of national laboratory personnel. NRE students begin their master’s work at The University of Texas, and then transition to national laboratories as staff employees or graduate research assistants. Graduate students reside primarily at national laboratories, though some are in industry, and take courses to earn or complete their PhDs. 

Grani Hanasusanto, assistant professor of Operations Research and Industrial Engineering in the Cockrell School of Engineering, has been selected to receive a 2018 Faculty Early Career Development (CAREER) Award totaling $500,000 from the National Science Foundation. This award was designed to support early-career faculty who have the potential to serve as academic role models in research and education and to lead advances in the mission of their department or organization.

The Department of Mechanical Engineering has received a $25,000 collection of gifts from various donors to support the creation of the Mechanical Engineering Academy of Distinguished Alumni Endowed Excellence Fund. As directed by the Board of Regents, this award will be used to help fund operating expenses and associated projects of the Academy.

Michael Haberman, assistant professor of mechanical engineering in the Cockrell School of Engineering, has been selected to receive a 2018 Office of Naval Research Young Investigator Program (YIP) award for a project titled “Acoustic Wave Redirection and Sensing using Bianisotropic Acoustic Metamaterials.” The award totals more than $500,000 over three years. Haberman is one of 31 scientists across multiple disciplines of science and engineering selected to receive the YIP award. 

According to the United Nations, 30,000 people die each week from the consumption and use of unsanitary water. Although the vast majority of these fatalities occur in developing nations, the U.S. is no stranger to unanticipated water shortages, especially after hurricanes, tropical storms and other natural disasters that can disrupt supplies without warning. Led by Guihua Yu, associate professor of materials science and mechanical engineering at The University of Texas at Austin, a research team in UT Austin’s Cockrell School of Engineering has developed a cost-effective and compact technology using combined gel-polymer hybrid materials. 

Vaibhav Bahadur (VB), Assistant Professor of Mechanical Engineering, was awarded a 2017 Google Faculty Research Award. This award is in the form of an unrestricted gift for research on novel methods to cool next generation data centers.

It’s difficult to conceptualize a world where humans could casually manipulate nanoscale objects at will or even control their own biological matter at a cellular level with light. But that is precisely what Yuebing Zheng, assistant professor of mechanical engineering at The University of Texas at Austin, is working toward with his “nanotweezers” — a new tool for handling nanoparticles using light that could create opportunities for innovations in nanotechnology and individual health monitoring.

Guatemala has the highest rate of chronic malnutrition in Latin America and the fourth-highest in the world. A team of students from The University of Texas at Austin has been collaborating with Guatemalan nonprofits to find practical ways to combat this crisis. The outreach is part of a yearlong course called Projects with Underserved Communities (PUC) — a service-learning collaboration between the International Office, the Cockrell School of Engineering and the Steve Hicks School of Social Work. The class brings together students from these schools to research, design and implement a humanitarian project in another country.

Three TMI faculty were named Highly Cited Researchers for 2017. Dr. Arumugam Manthiram, Mechanical Engineering professor and TMI Director, Dr. Nicholas Peppas from Chemical Engineering and Biomedical Engineering, and Dr. Allan MacDonald in Physics were among the only 16 named from UT Austin.

Dr. Janet Ellzey, a professor of Mechanical Engineering at the University of Texas at Austin, has been named a fellow of The Combustion Institute (CI). She is one of 125 international members to receive this honor in 2018.

Joomla SEF URLs by Artio