Media Contact

Ashley Lindstrom
Communications Coordinator

Now an assistant professor of civil and environmental engineering at the University of Southern California, Kelly Sanders has developed new methods of analyzing the complex relationship of water and energy — and is showing how both resources can be managed more wisely. 

The Cockrell School of Engineering at The University of Texas at Austin has named Richard R. Neptune, an accomplished professor and researcher, as the next chair of the Department of Mechanical Engineering.

The violent churning of river water as currents of different speeds collide over rapids.The dull thrum of air buffeting the window of a moving car. The sudden change in color when cream is stirred into coffee. The energy of these events results from the interplay of fluids with an object on the move. At the heart of each is a process called turbulence that has held the attention of Professor Bob Moser for some 30-plus years, with no java jolt required to boost his enthusiasm.

Mechanical Engineering professor Paul S. Ho has been selected by the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE) as co-recipient of its 2017 Components, Packaging, and Manufacturing Technology Award.

The 2016 World Automation Congress (WAC), which took place July 31-August 4 in Rio Grande, Puerto Rico, was dedicated to mechanical engineering professor Del Tesar.

Bradley Caponigro, Cockrell School of Engineering junior and undergraduate researcher in the Department of Mechanical Engineering, has been selected as an Astronaut Scholar for the second consecutive academic year.

University of Texas at Austin mechanical engineering associate professors Maura Borrego and Carolyn Seepersad have received a grant from the National Science Foundation’s Division of Engineering Education and Centers to study the links between engineering identity and retention in engineering.  

Amir Khalighi was awarded the Best Poster prize at the 2016 Frontiers in Medical Devices conference for his poster, titled "A Multi-resolution Analysis of the Mitral Valve Geometry for the Development of Personalized Models."

This year, Thinkery worked with students from The University of Texas at Austin’s Cockrell School of Engineering to redesign an activity for HydroExplorers, a Thinkery summer camp that explores the wild, wonderful world of water.

The Cockrell School's five Distinguished Engineering Graduates for 2016 are inventors, entrepreneurs, CEOs and thought leaders in their fields. We honor them for their professional leadership, dedication to advancing engineering and support of higher education. Established in 1957, the Distinguished Engineering Graduate Award represents the highest honor that the Cockrell School bestows on its alumni.

Joomla SEF URLs by Artio