Media Contact

Ashley Lindstrom
Communications Coordinator

Guihua Yu, assistant professor in the Department of Mechanical Engineering, joins three other trailblazing faculty members from the Cockrell School of Engineering and the College of Natural Sciences at The University of Texas at Austin who have been awarded Sloan Research Fellowships for 2016.

Mechanical engineering Ph.D. student Annie Weathers has won the Ben Streetman Prize, a university-wide award given each year for outstanding research by a graduate student in electronic and photonic materials and devices. The prize was created in 2001 by former students of Ben Streetman, who served as dean of the Cockrell School of Engineering from 1996 to 2008.

While a staff member in The University of Texas at Austin’s Utilities and Energy Management division, alumnus Rusty Osborne (B.S. Botany 1975) devoted his 30-year career to making campus operations more sustainable. As a result of his efforts, the university saves a significant amount of energy, water and costs every year and has become a recognized energy efficiency leader among universities across the U.S.

Now in retirement, Osborne and his wife, fellow UT Austin alumna Cecilia Green (B.S. Botany 1979), are committed to developing our future leaders in green energy. With a generous $50,000 donation, the couple has established the Osborne Green Energy Endowed Excellence Fund to support the Cockrell School of Engineering’s Webber Energy Group in its mission to change the way the world thinks about energy by training the next generation of energy innovators and policy leaders.

Professor Joseph Beaman has been named the recipient of the Society of Manufacturing Engineers’ 2016 Albert M. Sargent Progress Award, one of the organization’s most prestigious International Honor Awards. It was established to recognize significant accomplishments in the field of manufacturing processes, methods or systems and will be presented at the Society of Manufacturing Engineers’ (SME) Honor Award & Scholarship Presentations Ceremony on May 15 in Orlando, Florida.

Researchers in the Cockrell School of Engineering at The University of Texas at Austin have solved a problem in micro- and nanofabrication — how to quickly, gently and precisely handle tiny particles — that will allow researchers to more easily build tiny machines, biomedical sensors, optical computers, solar panels and other devices.

Professor Rick Neptune has been named interim chair of the Department of Mechanical Engineering in the Cockrell School of Engineering. He will assume the role on Jan. 1, 2016.

Researchers in the Cockrell School of Engineering at The University of Texas at Austin have developed a first-of-its-kind self-healing gel that repairs and connects electronic circuits, creating opportunities to advance the development of flexible electronics, biosensors and batteries as energy storage devices. 

Researchers in the Cockrell School of Engineering at The University of Texas at Austin are developing the world’s first active heat pipe that can transport high heat loads over long distances. Unlike conventional heat pipes found in electronic devices and other tools, which can move heat over only a few inches, this new technology will be capable of transporting kilowatts of heat over distances of a meter or longer. 

Mechanical engineering associate professor Maura Borrego understands how difficult the transition from undergraduate to graduate student can be. Before she joined the Cockrell School of Engineering to teach engineering education, she was in those students’ shoes, facing all of the same challenges.

Joomla SEF URLs by Artio