Media Contact

Ashley Lindstrom
Communications Coordinator

Mechanical engineering associate professor Maura Borrego understands how difficult the transition from undergraduate to graduate student can be. Before she joined the Cockrell School of Engineering to teach engineering education, she was in those students’ shoes, facing all of the same challenges.

In 2014 the Seton Brain and Spine Recovery Center came to James Sulzer with a problem. Their patients were performing shoulder exercises incorrectly and subjecting themselves to further injury, a particular issue for patients with spinal cord injuries.

Bradley Caponigro, Cockrell School of Engineering junior and undergraduate researcher in the Department of Mechanical Engineering, has been selected as a 2015-16 Astronaut Scholar.

Israel’s Prime Minister Benjamin Netanyahu and Israel’s Science, Technology and Space Minister Yaakov Peri have selected John B. Goodenough, professor at The University of Texas at Austin and inventor of the lithium-ion battery, to share The Eric and Sheila Samson Prime Minister’s Prize for Innovation in Alternative Fuels for Transportation.

Texas Engineers in the Department of Mechanical Engineering have developed a conductive, self-healing hybrid gel with high conductivity and strong mechanical and electrical self-healing properties that do not require external stimuli.

Have you ever wanted to control your own humanoid robot? On Tuesday, Oct. 6, you’ll get your chance! 

Join Cockrell School of Engineering assistant professor Luis Sentis and his team from the Human-Centered Robotics Lab as they launch and demonstrate a first-of-its-kind technology that makes Dreamer, UT Austin’s popular and lovable robot, accessible to anyone with a smart phone.

Led by the inventor of the lithium-ion battery, a team of researchers in the Cockrell School of Engineering at The University of Texas at Austin has identified a new safe and sustainable cathode material for low-cost sodium-ion batteries.

The Cockrell School of Engineering at The University of Texas at Austin has launched its first Master of Science in Mechanical Engineering program offered completely online. The program is intended for engineering professionals and is designed to address the need for rigorous yet flexible higher education programs for working adults.

Jayathi Murthy, who is chair of the Cockrell School's Department of Mechanical Engineering and holds the Ernest Cockrell, Jr. Memorial Chair in Engineering, has been named dean of the Henry Samueli School of Engineering and Applied Science at the University of California, Los Angeles. Her appointment becomes effective Jan. 1, 2016.

Joomla SEF URLs by Artio